Go Back   Real Racin USA Motor Sports Forum > FLORIDA STOCK CAR RACING > Events Section
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-01-2013, 12:06 PM
Posts: n/a
Default Race PR and Official Results at East Bay FASTRAK Race #1

Eventful Show Put’s Florida Native in Victory Lane for FASTRAK’S Race #1 in $40,000 37th Annual East Bay Winternationals


(Tampa, Florida) – The 37th Annual East Bay Winternationals has now officially got underway. Wednesday night Open Practice got things rebirthed at East Bay Raceway Park. However on a Thursday night in Race #1 of the Winternationals things got put into “full force” as the FASTRAK Racing Series invaded the 1/3rd mile dirt facility. The decision was made before the Heat Races took staging that every driver would start the 1st ever 30 lap A-Main Feature paying $2,000 to win. Here’s a recap of Heat Winners at East Bay Raceway Park which sets the field.

Heat Race Races Winners – Night #1 at East Bay Raceway Park - Tampa, Florida
FK Rod Ends Heat #1 - #69b Bryan Bernhardt
Hoosier Race Tires Heat #2 - #11c Chris Ferguson
Integra Race Shocks Heat #3 - #11 David Smith
Chevy Performance Heat #4 - #58 Mark Whitener (VP Race for the Pole FAST Qualifier)

The 27 car field from 6 states “hyped up” the crowd after driver introductions including the 4-wide salute then it was time to go to work. “Rocklin’ Ronnie” was ready to unfurl the green flag to the field and the 1st ever FASTRAK Racing Series event in Florida was underway. The yellow would quickly come out as fast as the green fell however when #99 Scott Chenoweth spins solo off turn 4 at the official start. The yellow flag fell again when #68 Kurt Waush and #8s Steve Miller lock up horns spinning unison into the infield in turn 3. There was another period of “stop and go” periods in the race involving solo cautions falling for drivers - #20 Wayne Robertson, #14 Mark Varnadore, #8b Steve Banal, #95 Devin Dixon and #07 Doug Watson. The “BIG ONE” took place early in the going involving 7 cars exiting off turn 4. #69 Bryan Bernhardt shot up the “tator patch” driving up to high and looping the car around. This caused a “chain reaction” forcing the entire field to checkup which collected innocently - #95jr Steven Mathis Jr., #75 Colton Flinner, #41 Travis Varnadore, #23 Corey Gordon, #11b Jamie Slatton and #07 Doug Watson. However the caution was called for the #69b Bernhardt which had to be towed back to the pits ending his night. All other drivers retained their position spot back. Caution would fall again for incidents involving #99* Rick Singleton, #95 Devin Dixon, and #2 Dennis Franklin.

After the continuous periods of the A-Main Feature it came down to a 11 lap “race shootout” on the final restart of the event. During the event #11c Chris Ferguson and #11 David Smith regular FASTRAK contenders driving “team cars” led laps at one point in the race. However “The Magic Man” in the #58 Mark Whitener would jump out in to the mix and contest the top spot. On lap #14 Whitener was able to make a pass for the lead as Ferguson would battle back but Whitener’s machine was to strong. Well a driver that was involved in 2 earlier cautions in the race was back contending for victory. #95 Devin Dixon was rallying in the late going and door to door with Whitener for the top spot. He’d try to contend for the win again but a lap machine held him back at the white flag which allowed him to sail away from the field and take the checkers. A very eventful race puts a Florida native from Ocala in victory lane for the first time at East Bay Raceway Park with the FASTRAK Racing Series in the 37th Annual East Bay Winternationals.

**After Post Race Inspection the #95 Devin Dixon which finished 2nd in the feature was disqualified for having a thick carburetor spacer plate.** Racing action continues again Friday night for another $2,000 to win full show at the “Clay by the Bay”.

37th Annual East Bay Winternationals Race #1 Official Results
1st #58 Mark Whitner – Ocala, Florida
2nd #11c Chris Ferguson – Mt. Holly, North Carolina
3rd #2 Dennis Franklin – Gaffney, South Carolina
4th #44w Brandon Umberger – Rural Retreat, Virginia
5th #14 Mark Varnadore – Dover, Florida
6th #41 Travis Varnadore – Dover, Florida
7th #07 Doug Watson – Plant City, Florida
8th #11 David Smith – Inman, South Carolina
9th #99* Rick Singleton – Hesston, Pennsylvania
10th #11b Jamie Slatton – Tampa, Florida
11th #1p Wallace Peacock – Riverview, Florida
12th #75 Colton Flinner – Allison Park, Pennsylvania
13th #20 Wayne Robertson – Coming, New York
14th #95jr Steven Mathis Jr. – Plant City, Florida
15th 02 Keith Noshbisch – Tampa, Florida
16th #23 Corey Gordon – Charlotte, North Carolina
17th #8s Steve Miller – Troutman, North Carolina
18th #21p Josh Peacock – Dover, Florida
19th #23b Derrick Brown – Rural Hall, North Carolina
20th #300 Bill Tesh – Germanton, North Carolina
21st #68 Kurt Waush – Shawano, Wisconsin
22nd #69b Bryan Bernhardt – Clearwater, Florida
23rd #8b Steve Banal – Troutman, North Carolina
24th #32c Phillip Cobb – Plant City, Florida
25th #99 Scott Chenoweth – Shinston, West Virginia
26th #01 Jack Nosbisch Jr. – Riverview, Florida
27th #95 Devin Dixon – Apollo Beach, Florida – DISQUALIFIED

Remaining Schedule of Events for 37th Annual East Bay Winternationals
Friday February 1st - $2,000 to win
Saturday February 2nd - $3,000 to win

East Bay will also be awarding extra money thru the field at the end of night 3 from 21st on back entitled “The East Bay FASTRAK Bonus”!! Drivers that finish in position’s 21st-30th will be collecting $150 Dollars. In addition to that payout, if there are any drivers that finish in positions 31st-40th in the overall 3 race series rundown; they will be awarded each $200 Dollars. However there is a stipulation to get the chance to be eligible for the money from Position’s 21st thru 40th. You have to have “PERFECT ATTENDANCE” for the entire 3 days of the 2013 East Bay Winternationals!!

Also if you don't live in Florida you can still watch the FASTRAK Racing Series portions of the 37th Annual East Bay Winternationals on XSAN.TV Pay Per View at a great price. Go to www.xsan.tv/order to join the 37th East Bay Winternationals today for the entire event for a great price!!

Stay tuned to www.fastrakracing.com as well as the FASTRAK Racing Series Fan Page on Facebook and/or follow @FASTRAK_Racing on Twitter to get up to the minute news and details as they become available.

The FASTRAK Racing Series City Chevrolet Touring Divisions would like to thank all of its marketing partners for their great and continuing support. Those 2013 sponsors include: Hoosier Race Tires, VP Racing Fuel, City Chevrolet, Chevrolet Performance Parts, Vicci Apparel, TNT Race Cars, Rocket Chassis, Longhorn Race Cars, RockAuto.com and FK Rod Ends. FASTRAK would also like to welcome Genesis Race Shocks, Cool Shirt, Five Star Bodies, Hooker Harness, Velocita USA Driving Suits, Beya Headers, Kooks Custom Headers, R2C Filters, Sisco Fire and Safety and Tiger Rear Ends to our line-up of product sponsors. If you are interested in becoming a sponsor of the Premier Pro Late Model Series in the Country please contact Stan Lester at the FASTRAK Corporate Office at (678) 935-7304 or Series Director Kelley Carlton at (864) 871-1442. Also Visit the FASTRAK Racing Series online at www.fastrakracing.com and be sure to like us on Facebook and/or follow us on Twitter at @FASTRAK_Racing!!
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:12 AM.

POWERED BY KARNAC.com since 1998
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright Real Racin USA & KARNAC Media 1997-2007